• Athlete of the Week Bibi Carmouche | Pro Rider Watercraft Magazine
    blah

    Athlete of the Week Bibi Carmouche
    Oct201330

    Get To Know Bibi Carmouche…  A great interview by Team My Lucas Oil Athlete of The Week

    Tell us a little about who you are and how you got involved in Jet Skiing.

    My name is Bibi Carmouche, I’m 21 years old from Loomis, California. I currently live in Reno, Nv where I am going to school for a nursing degree. I’ve played all kinds of sports growing up as a kid and have always been a competitive athlete. The first time I got on a jet ski was my senior year of high school, one of my friends had his 550 out at the lake near my house and I decided to jump on and see what it was all about. Soon after, I got my own 750 SXi and was out at the lake riding just about everyday. I didn’t find out about closed course racing until the spring of 2012. When I went to a local race and saw how awesome it was, I knew I had to try it out for myself. I picked up an SXR 800 and two weeks later went and entered my first race in Sparks, Nv at the IJSBA national tour and was hooked ever since!

    You just killed it out at Lake Havasu for the IJSBA World Finals! Tell us a little bit about it. 

    This was my second year competing at the IJSBA World Finals. In 2012 I had only raced a few times prior to the finals and had very little experience on the race track. This year was a whole different story. After being fortunate enough to race the majority of the National tour and quiet a few races on the west coast, I was more ready than ever to go out and compete against the best. The Novice Women’s ski limited class was my main focus going into the finals and it happened to be one of my first races of the week. I was nervous and excited to get things started and see if all my training and hard work would pay off.

    In my heat race I came out with the holeshot and took 1st place with the fastest qualifying time, which was a perfect way to start out the day. In Moto 1 I took a 1st again and all I needed to do was win Moto 2 and I would take the title. The nerves quickly took over before the start of the final moto and I ended up not getting the start that I had wanted. Coming out in the middle of the pack, I had to hunt down each and every girl in front of me to get to where I needed to be, I quickly got up to second place and rode there for most of the race until I finally passed the girl in first with about a lap left to go. It was the best feeling ever crossing that finish line and knowing that I had just won the World Title!

    After that exciting race I still had two classes to compete in with the guys, where I took home a 10th overall in Novice ski limited and a 4th  place in Classic two stroke limited. Then at the end of the week I was able to compete in the Pro-Am Women’s race where I finished with a 6th place finish.

    What plans do you have for next season?

    races and the 2014 IJSBA World Finals. My plan for next season is to race in the Mark Hahn 300 mile endurance race, the West Coast National races, as many of the IJSBA National Tour races as I can, possibly some of the P1 AquaX

    Who are your biggest influences in the industry?

    Tera Laho is an awesome rider and competes against the men in the GP classes, which I am hoping to do as well someday. You don’t seemany girls that enjoy racing with men, so Tera is someone that I can look up to and see how she handles herself in that class. Another outstanding female rider is Emi Kanamori, she is the sweetest lady to talk to and when she gets out on the water she is unstoppable.

    What are your other hobbies outside of jet skiing?

    I enjoy anything that involves being outdoors! I’m lucky enough to live right next to Lake Tahoe, which makes adventuring and being outside that much better. I recently started mountain biking and absolutely love it. I’m also into hunting and shooting whenever I get the time to do it and in the winter you’ll find me out on the ski slopes, skiing almost every day of the season! I work as a kids ski instructor at Northstar California, which is the perfect job for someone as active as I am.

     

    Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

    I’m currently in school for a nursing degree and hope to be graduated with a BSN in the next 5 years I also see myself continuing  to go further in the sport of Jet Ski racing and to be able to travel the world to race in other countries if the opportunity is given.Who supports you in racing, and who would you like to thank?My mom and dad support me in everything I do, without them I wouldn’t be where I am today and I couldn’t thank them enough for it. I’d like to thank Kommander Industries for building me the perfect ski for the world finals. Also a big Thank you to my sponsors; My Lucas Oil, Jet Pilot, Ryno Power, Hot Products, GoPro and Roseville Kawasaki.

     

     

    Leave a Comment